Raw Coconut Cream Pie!

Raw Coconut Cream Pie

Keeping things short and sweet my friends : this Raw Coconut Cream Pie rules.

It’s obviously something special because I never post twice in the same day! But since today is #rawwednesday on twitter, I thought I share this for any of my tweet-pals who wanted to give it a go. There’s no soaking required, and it takes all of 5 or maybe 7 minutes!

I feel like some kind of raw foodist super-hero chica extraordinaire (which I am *so* not!) because it’s really that good. I obviously can’t take credit for fruits and nuts being so delicious, but I can be thankful I took a risk and tried to create something I was craving! So easy, so quick, you’ve no excuses not to make one yourself!

Raw Coconut Cream Pie

  • 3 small or 2 large Very Ripe Bananas
  • 1.5 cups coconut, shredded
  • pinch Celtic Sea Salt (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoons each of nutmeg and cinnamon
  • 1 vanilla bean, scraped.

Toss everything into your food processor and blend to desired consistency, stopping to scrape down the sides. Place in a bowl and let chill in freezer while you make the crust…

Raw Coconut Cream Pie Crust

  • 1/2 cup almonds (unsoaked)
  • 1/2 cup to 1 cup walnuts (unsoaked)
  • 3 or 4 of your favourite dates (soaked in water for about 30 mins if they aren’t moisty-sticky
  • pinch Celtic Sea Salt
  • 1/4 (or more) cinnamon
  • perhaps a bit of water

Toss everything into the food processor (no, you don’t need to wash or rinse it, save the water, kids!), adding a little water if you need to. If you feel it needs a little more walnut goodness than add in another 1/2 cup. Pat pie crust into a 17cm/7in custard dish (or even on a plate, whatever’s clever!) and top with chilled Coconut Cream Filling. It’ll taste better if you let the whole thing chill for a little while, but it’s ok if you can’t wait – I couldn’t.

Makes aprox. 4 servings

27 thoughts on “Raw Coconut Cream Pie!

  1. very quick and simple.
    however, one POTENTIAL problem…
    nuts are usually soaked for a reason. and that is to breakdown and remove the protective enzymes (esp almonds) that are on the surface. these enzymes deter animals from eating them in the wild as it makes them much harder to digest. if you have weak digestion (or even normal digestion), the gut can “blow up” an be quite hard and painful. i know from experience.
    ALWAYS better to soak (overnight) and then dehydrate nuts.
    but if this works for you as is then thats great!!

    • Hi Brenten!

      It’s true that some folks have trouble digesting unsoaked raw nuts, but luckily I don’t seem to have that problem. I think that if I had a dehydrator, I would probably give the soaking/drying method a try, though! Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Pingback: Stir Not Fry and Coconut Cream Pie « Living Slowly

  3. Pingback: Raw Wednesday (8-19-09)

Leave a comment