W.I.P. Wednesday : Painting fun for little (and big) ones!

Guppy and I have been on Spring break this week, and it’s been lovely to spend lazy time with her, just reading, snuggling and creating.

Last year’s Spring Break was a drenched two weeks of earth-quenching rain. And cold. Berk.  With the memories of last April’s humid holiday wrecking weather I opted to prepare a few “Plan Bs”,  just in case.  As our good luck would have it we’ve been blessed with the most beautiful, warm and sunny weather, so we’ve been spending most of this week playing outside, but here’s a peek at one  of the activities that we’ve both been enjoying.

This is the most beautiful book, “Apprendre à peindre” (learn to paint).  It’s written in Chinese and French, and it’s a very simple approach to painting.  The book is meant for Chinese Inks, but we have watercolors at home, and they seem to be just great.

As you can see, it illustrates in a few brushstrokes how to create something simple.

Here are a few kakis and some apples (so you don’t have to guess!)

A pair of pears.

Guppy made an apple tree and an unfinished snailrabbit.

I know these are not meant for close-ups, but I wanted to show you the simplicity of the technique which, if I am to judge Guppy’s reaction, really appeals to children.

As I mentioned in last week’s post I’m learning to knit, but this amazing weather has had me outside playing and not inside knitting.  I did bring my knitting to the park the other day while Guppy played, and I brought it with me today on a picnic, but I admit to playing with the kiddies and not really knitting…

Knitting? Or…

Playing? Humm…

There’s rain in the forecast for the weekend, so maybe I’ll get a little scarf-knitting in between the raindrops?

A bright and cheery Spring welcome to all our new Wipsters! If you’d like to join the Wipster list, just leave a comment and let me know. The W.I.P. Wednesday Flickr Pool just keeps growing – don’t be shy! Those photos are there to inspire, and we would love to see what you’ve been up to. Think of it as your parents’ fridge : a safe and loving place to highlight what you’ve been working on (without the strawberry jam stains on the door).

wipwed_blyel240

5 thoughts on “W.I.P. Wednesday : Painting fun for little (and big) ones!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention W.I.P. Wednesday : Painting fun for little (and big) ones! « Musings From The Fishbowl -- Topsy.com

  2. I *love* the idea of a snailrabbit! It’s awesome on so many levels!
    Give me paper and pencils, markers, brushes, whatever, and I freeze. Don’t know what to do. I have a feeling that a sweet little book as this one would help me get started.

Leave a Reply

