Make Your Own Vegan Beauty Products : Magical Make-Up Remover ou Sérum démaquillant biphasé

My DIY Vegan Beauty Products experimenting continues with this newest concoction which I slightly adapted from a new book I scored : 90 recettes de beauté bio à faire soi-même (90 Organic Do-it-Yourself Beauty Recipes) by Sophie Macheteau and Vania Guet. This is my first attempt at something from their gorgeous book, which is really written for the débutante that I am.

90 recettes is some terribly delicious eye-candy : beautifully photographed and edited, I found myself feeling rather soothed just leafing through the recipes. As I glanced at the various possibilities, I found myself wanting to try everything, but the majority of the cosmetics, lotions & potions require ingredients other than what one would find in the common kitchen. I had the vitamin E capsules, as well as the essential oils, but had no jojoba oil or grapefruit seed extract on hand. Maybe you do.

Taking note of what I needed cosmetically-speaking, and what I could make without dropping 40E at the health food store, I decided on the Sérum démaquillant biphasé jojoba-camomille (Double-phase make-up removing serum with chamomile and jojoba). Nearly out of make-up remover, this very easy recipe was worth trying. I adapted it a bit (because I can’t leave good enough alone) by adding geranium and chamomile essential oils.

Double-Phase Make-up Removing Serum with Chamomille and jojoba adapted from Sérum démaquillant biphasé jojoba-camomille de 90 recettes de beauté bio à faire soi-même par Sophie Macheteau & Vanina Guet. This recipe is for a 100ml container (about 3.4oz). I made it in a 50ml container since this was just a test-run. Don’t forget to sterilize your containers & be super-careful about washing hands & such since this is homemade, kids!

  • What you need: Jojoba oil, Chamomile Water, Grapefruit Seed Extract, Vitamin E Oil (I used a capsule, pierced with a sterilized needle), optional essential oils with good-for-your-skin properties
  • Using your container to measure the doses, pour it 2/3s full of the Jojoba Oil, then top off the remaining 1/3 with the Chamomile Water.
  • Add 20 drops of Grapefruit Seed Extract
  • Add 7 drops of Vitamin E oil
  • I added 4 drops each of Essential Oils of Geranium & Chamomile
  • Close your container & shake like crazy (you’ll need to shake like crazy before using).

I loved it! It smells great, and it works wonderfully. I just dabbed some on a cotton circle and used it not just for the eye make-up, but for my entire face. I don’t wear terribly heavy make-up (they days I do wear it), and it’s water-based so easier to remove than the water-proof sort. This make-up remover would not have worked for me about 10 years ago when my skin was just out of the teens and still more on the moist side. I don’t have dry skin, but now that I’ve hit the 30s, I do notice I am using more moisturizer than I did back then. After using I just sprayed on a little toner and put on some moisturizer and was good to go. It took me about a week and a half to go through my 50ml bottle, and I’ll be making more tonight!

8 thoughts on “Make Your Own Vegan Beauty Products : Magical Make-Up Remover ou Sérum démaquillant biphasé

  1. with all those essential oils would it irritate my eyes if i tried to remove mascara for example? i know they’re pure,good for skin but some of them have some be-careful-properties, you know like orange oil shouldn’t be used when the sun is around cause it can bleach your skin-at least.

    • That’s a good question. I’ve been using this for years and haven’t had any problems, but I am not a chemist nor a doctor and do not suggest using any of my recipes unless you’re willing to take that risk. That said, provided you shake the make-up remover very well before applying to a cotton pad there will be no problems as the amount of essential oil is very small and is well distributed in the mixture; ie: you’re not applying straight up pure essential oils to your skin, but the solution which has essential oils in it.

  2. This sounds wonderful…gentle on the skin and oh so fragrant. I haven’t yet started buying essential oils, but I need start picking some out to try. Sounds like so much fun to make and use this remover.

    Natalie @ Gluten a Go Go

  3. This looks great shellyfish – I’ve been looking for a book like this but haven’t picked one up yet because there are so many choices out there it’s hard to know which books are actually good – thanks for pointing a good one out :)

  4. Hello my aquatic friend :o). For my cake, I used the Golden Vanilla cupcake recipe from Vegan Cupcakes take over the World, but converted it into cake form. That’s the only cupcake recipe I’ve morphed into a cake, but someday I want to try the other recipes in that cookbook… how good does a cookies-n-cream cake sound?!

Leave a Reply

