W.I.P. Wednesday : Knitting 101

I’m finally learning to knit.  I figured now that it’s reaching 22°c and 25°c outside it’s just perfect scarf-knitting weather…

Obviously I’m joking, but I am finally getting the hang of it. The problem is I’m such a visual learner – had I found someone to sit down with me and show me what to do, I’d have learned a long time ago I suppose.  I gave it a go a few weeks ago, but skipped so many stitches I pulled it all out and am giving it another go.  Hopefully I’ll get it done before too long!

(The grey scarf I’m knitting is behind the book!)

This book has really helped me. I had another one, but it wasn’t as geared towards “true” beginners as this one is. It’s got lots of diagrams and pictures, so that works for me.

I guess I’ll try to work in a few stitches between packing boxes next week as I’ll have a full week’s vacation. Happyfish.

A warm welcome to all our new Wipsters! If you’d like to join the Wipster list, just leave a comment and let me know. The W.I.P. Wednesday Flickr Pool just keeps growing – don’t be shy! Those photos are there to inspire, and we would love to see what you’ve been up to. Think of it as your parents’ fridge : a safe and loving place to highlight what you’ve been working on (without the strawberry jam stains on the door).

wipwed_blyel240

14 thoughts on “W.I.P. Wednesday : Knitting 101

  1. Pingback: W.I.P. Wednesday : Painting fun for little (and big) ones! « Musings From The Fishbowl

  2. I was going to point you to the knittinghelp website, but it looks like Charity beat me to it. I learned from a book, too, but hit a few roadblocks along the way. The videos can be really helpful, especially when the book directions just don’t make sense.

  3. welcome to the knitting club! several years ago i was really sick and basically was on bed rest for three weeks – so i taught myself how to knit and have been knitting like crazy ever since. this year after my car accident, i taught myself how to crochet and love it just as much. can’t wait to see what you make!

  4. Uh oh, welcome to your new obsession. It may take a little while to get the hang of it, but soon you’ll be knitting without even looking at your hands… and that’s when the danger starts. Some things just don’t need cosies. :P

    • Ciao Bella! Thank you for the link – I’m going to check it out. You’re so sweet! I wish I could come knit with you! Don’t worry too much about adding any to Google docs just yet, I’m moving pretty slowly on this scarf. :)

  5. Hey!
    I have an off and on relationship with knitting… I started some socks back in November, and well, I’m still working on them. Anyhow, a site which I’ve found super helpful has been
    http://www.knittinghelp.com/
    Tons of information on there, plus some really awesome videos so you can see how to do things.
    Can’t wait to see what you’re making!

  6. Oh, how I wish we could sit and knit together! Next time I’m in France…
    One of the joys of a simple pattern is that you can pick up your knitting even when you only have time for a few stitches. Perfect for short breaks between packing boxes! Enjoy your vacation, dear Ms. Fish!

  7. Too bad we don’t live closer ;) I would have loved to sit down with you and shown you how to knit! I’m proud of you for starting – I think it’s a great hobby ;) *Also happy to see you back blogging! I missed your posts :)

    • Oh Carmen – I would love to get a little lesson from you, you’re such a knitting pro. I thought of you today – I re-read “One More Day”, it’s so lovely. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

